MOVIE REVIEW: Captain America VS X-Men

The movies dominated our weekend because we hadn’t had a date night in over a month.  My in-laws went to Asia and my mom went to Europe so basically, we had no babysitters.  A break was long overdue so we had back-to-back days of movie dates.  LOVED it!

On Friday, we saw Captain America: Civil War.  Two thumbs way up!  Without spoiling the movie (see my thoughts on that here), the Avengers are split down the middle.  One group wants to go with the government and sign a treaty that allows the United Nations to monitor what the Avengers do and when they act.  The other group wants to do their own thing and have justice in their own hands.  I am always Team Iron Man and whether or not that worked out, I will let you see for yourself or Google it elsewhere.  I’m not going to ruin the movie for you.  🙂

I enjoyed all the action and the quirky comments of Iron Man.  A couple of surprise appearances in the movie, which was awesome, especially since the ones I’m thinking of are comical characters and not the first ones you’d think of to have on your team in battle.  Their sharp wit and specialized skills worked to their advantage though…got you thinking?  Go see it!  Lots of explosions, awesome fighting sequences, and good storylines.  I’d give it a 9.  Heck, who am I kidding?  10.

On Saturday, we met up with Baby C’s godparents for a quick Double Date.  We saw X-Men: Apocalypse.  I didn’t know what to expect because I had heard from a couple of people and reviews that it wasn’t very good.  I was disappointed to hear that because I love superhero movies (HTD is amazing and remembers everything from all the movies while I need refreshers every so often…hence we make a good team).

Kept an open mind and glad I did.  I really liked it!  I thought they did a great job of continuing the storyline and developing the characters.  It was interesting to see how young Storm and Jean Grey evolved, Nightcrawler played a larger role, and they narrated Magneto’s background story well.  There were a few moments where I cried so you know the emotional heartstrings were tugged.  Like Captain America: Civil War, the good and bad mutants fought hard against each other for most of the movie.  Near the end, as always, there is a change of heart and all is right with the world.  This movie also had a surprise appearance from my favourite X-Men character so that was a great bonus!  I’d give it a 8.5.  It was 2 hours and 27 minutes though which was slightly longer than previous X-Men films in the series. It could’ve been done in two hours or less, but I’m not complaining. 🙂

Overall, a cinema-filled weekend of superheroes and popcorn.  More power to us!  🙂

Leave a Reply

